About IES

IES Mission Statement
The IES seeks to improve the lighted environment by bringing together those with lighting knowledge and by translating that knowledge into actions that benefit the public.

IES Vision Statement
The IES will build upon a century of excellence to create the premier lighting community dedicated to promoting the art and science of quality lighting to its members, allied professional organizations, and the public.


Section Officers 2019-2020

  • President: Chris Purpura, WJHW
  • Vice President: Roy Harline, Texas Scenic Company
  • Treasurer: Nate Nichols, 2M Lighting
  • Secretary: Jorge Olivares, Jose Guerra, Inc.


Board of Managers 2019-2020

  • Cheryl Hurst, ERT Lighting and Sales
  • Mike Moss, Mike Moss Lighting

The Board of Managers is elected to a one-year term in accordance with Section by-laws and IES standards. Elections are held in the spring of each year. If you are interested in joining the board, please Contact Us.


Committee Chairs 2019-2020

  • Past President: Roy Harline, Texas Scenic Company
  • Education: Jae Suk, UTSA
  • Emerging Professionals: Kimberly Kalk, Alderson and Associates
  • Webmaster: Daniel Harrington, Merrick & Company